Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Back 40. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Onyralu 2 days ago

Wet Burrito

My husband introduced me to the Wet Burrito. We have ordered them several times (about to order again for lunch).They are incredibly delicious!! I love the Grilled Whitefish Wet Burrito! The beans, cheese, sour cream, rice, and red sauce with the delicate whitefish all blend together to make a seriously pleasing mouthful!!

Arlette 4 days ago

Cuban

As I am of Cuban heritage the Cuban sandwich was wonderful!! The mud pie was divine.

Catherinecard12 4 days ago

Island Bowl

I had the Island Bowl with Mojo Pork, it was awesome!!

Mollyschoice 11 days ago

BBQ Chicken Quesadilla

Excellent service and delicious food . Never had a bad meal here.

Jbdittmer 17 days ago

Wet Burrito

Lets just say this burrito is no joke. The size alone is unheard of. It is absolutely massive. My husband and I usually split it. It is stuffed full of an abundance of toppings and we always add the jerk chicken. Fantastic, filling, healthy meal. I sometimes ask for it "drunken" which means queso smothered on top of it. Amazing! Really, you can not go wrong with any meal at Back40!

Kbholly 18 days ago

Wet Burrito

We had the Wet Burrito and the Mahi Tacos. What wonderful dishes! They were beautifully plated and tasted amazing. All the ingredients seemed very fresh and the food was inspired. We loved the ambiance and the friendly wait staff too! We will be back for sure! Thank you for a delicious evening.

Sandra.474 19 days ago

Shrimp Curry

Amazingly scrumptious, a must try.

Mikehennessy92 23 days ago

Shrimp Curry

Today I had lunch with a coworker and we both ordered the Shrimp Curry Salad. Not only was it delicious, but the portions were HUGE! We both had to get a box to take home and I will be using it for dinner tonight. Highly recommend!

Trose8494 23 days ago

Mojo Pork Tacos

One of the best tacos I've ever had. Quality food at an unbeatable price.

Kait4787 26 days ago

Cuban

Back 40...I LOVE YOU! We have eaten here at least a dozen times and the theme is consistency! Every meal we've had here has been flavorful and enjoyable. Back 40 is one of the few places that we know we can always count on to have a great meal!

Kait4787 26 days ago

Avocado and Roasted Red Pepper Tacos

These are my favorite tacos! All of the flavors work together wonderfully to make a filling taco! The roasted red peppers add a great BAM!

Bettymccordduncan 26 days ago

Shrimp Curry

Addictive! Perfect salad, perfect blend of fresh ingredients, with an unexpected combination and pizazz without being spicy or hot! My very favorite! I come to Back 40 for the shrimp curry salad very single time I'm in town!

Cathlyndriscoll 26 days ago

Sante Fe Chicken

Love this Salad! Have had this the last two times we ate at the Back 40. The salad is huge! Lots of chicken, beans, tomatoes and the dressing is perfect. Not too spicy but with Sante Fe appeal.

Seabear74 about 1 month ago

Upside Down Chicken Pot Pie

This is so delicious. We drive down from Jacksonville every week to St Augustine and this is our favorite stop. We have the upside down pot pie. My husband has Parkinsons Disease with swallow issues and he can eat and enjoy this meal with no worries or problems it allows him to enjoy eating out again. If you do not try anything else on the menu the upside down chicken pot pie is a must it is fresh and taste just like grandma made it with a little flip.

Kaseyholmes about 1 month ago

Island Bowl

I went for the first time last week, and really enjoyed it. My fiancé and I had chips, queso, and salsa. Moving from Texas, I've been searching for good salsa, and I really liked this one. I also had an island bowl. It was so good, and so big. He had a black and blue burger (I didn't try it, but he liked it) and potato salad. The potato salad was one of the best I've had, which is saying a lot. We will definitely be coming back. Oh, and the patio is dog friendly, which is one of our favorite things about living in Saint Augustine!

Victoriaanndexter about 1 month ago

Jerk Chicken Tacos

The back 40 is one of my favorite local spots that's away from the hustle and bustle of tourists, has great food, and an affordable menu. The first time I went, I went for the happy hour taco special and fell in love. Jerk chicken usually my first choice but I loved it and have been back since for more!

Dunnminnie about 1 month ago

Steak Tacos

I substituted flour tortillas for corn. 2 large tacos with tons of steak and veggies, pickled peppers, cheese, and avocado. Accompanied by a local draft beer, what good times are made of!

Pborzill about 1 month ago

Wet Burrito

Great dinner item. Add the Moho pork. It enough for 2 meals. Put a fried egg on it for breakfast.

Believe.Three about 1 month ago

Dynamite Shrimp Tacos

Your Dynamite Shrimp Taco was my first ever Shrimp Taco.. and it was amazing!! It was fresh and tasty, more delicious than I ever imagined a Shrimp Taco could taste!! The only problem is, I've never have tried any of your other meals because I look so forward to my favorite dish! Whomever named it "Dynamite " was spot on!

Algiannotta about 1 month ago

Southwest Caesar

I always, always, always order the Southwest Ceasar Salad! The unique ceasar dressing is something I crave so often! The crunchy tortilla strips are the perfect juxtaposition to the creamy, perfectly ripe avocado, it has just the right amount of cilantro, and it is yummy, yummy, yummy!!! BUT! - It's even better topped with jerk chicken! #newmenuitem

Ebou 3 days ago

Upside Down Chicken Pot Pie

We have company coming for dinner and not enough time to prepare. Boy will they love this food

Croy1234 4 days ago

Dynamite Shrimp Tacos

We had a party of 9, great service and food. Everyone had a great time.👍😁

Allisonscoble 10 days ago

Chimichurri Pork Tacos

These are the best tacos I have ever had! My husband and I love the date night special on tuesdays and always take advantage of happy hour!

Meridithpartel 11 days ago

Mojo Steak Quesadilla

The mojo steak quesadilla is ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!! The servers are always so friendly and accommodating! They always get my sons very particular order correct and it's his absolute favorite restaurant and he's only 7!! They give you a lot of food for a very small price!! My family and I love this restaurant! It's definitely our GO TO!!!

Carpenc 18 days ago

California Reuben

It had the perfect combo of flavor & crunch and the side of pasta managed to light and flavorful. My friends had various salads, bowls and cubans and everyone LOVED their choices. Will be back!!

Cheerleaderz67 19 days ago

Cuban

Absolutely the best Cuban in town !

Eelirek 21 days ago

Avocado and Roasted Red Pepper Tacos

We just moved to St. Augustine and saw locals rave about the quality of the service and food and we had to give it a try. More than satisfied with everything and we are ready to be regulars! And DEFINITELY can't beat some of their deals!!

Bridgetpact 23 days ago

Island Bowl

As usual, absolutely amazing. Flavorful and satisfying! Great service, great food .. doesn't get any better than that!

Lenorewelty 25 days ago

Chimichurri Pork Tacos

Absolutely fabulous flavor combo! The pork is roasted to perfection, the chimichurri is flavorful and the staff is great. I need to try something else but have a hard time doing so these tacos are sooooo yummy!!!!

Jlind44 26 days ago

Back 40 Burger

Do yourself a favor and try this burger!

Derekadittmer 26 days ago

Cuban

The best Cuban sandwich in St Augustine! The Back 40 is so consistent with great service. Healthy/ fresh and you cannot beat their Tuesday Date night specials!

Jbdittmer 26 days ago

Jerk Chicken Nachos

We are regulars at back40 urban and will even go to the a1a location when at the beach! In fact we've gotten our parents hooked too, who aren't local! Let's be honest, every meal we have is outstanding and always fresh, locally sourced ingredients, never fried, you simply can not go wrong. One thing we always order is the Jerk Chicken Nachos. Of course we have to add the avocado! They are always amazing and certainly do not skimp you on the toppings! They are perfectly seasoned, full of flavor, and not soggy like some nachos tend be! Give them a try, I bet they will be your new must order appetizer!

Tigerlily91584 28 days ago

Jerk Chicken Press

This is my "Go-to" meal. I've been going to Back 40 for years and when my clients ask for a recommendation, Back 40 is always at the top of the list. Great food, great service!

Lorimarlow10 about 1 month ago

Drunken Wet Burrito

We are locals who have made the Back 40 a regular. The first time I saw the wet burrito I was surprised by the size and when I tasted it I was in burrito heaven! We have tried many items on the menu and have never been disappointed. Back 40 has the best happy hour around. And don't forget the desserts-they are the perfect end to a meal you'll keep coming "back" for! Lori MARLOW St. Augustine

Jacquelinemaeve about 1 month ago

Thai Chicken & Peanut

I LOVE THIS PLACE! Everything is always awesome. Literally never had a bad thing here

Lakelandwill26 about 1 month ago

Steak Tacos

Wonderful!!! Our 1time.. my wife has celiac so, a little gluten sends her to the hospital. We asked to be sure and several items were GLUTEN FREE !!! This is huge for her. We will be come here every trip to town which is often! Thanks for your careful gluten free dedication!!!

Jlweist1990 about 1 month ago

Jerk Chicken Tacos

Best tacos! I moved to Jax and every time i come to st Augustine i stop in to enjoy these because i miss Them so much! Ask for a side of the curry sauce and it's AMAZING!!!!

Teachingandlovingit2 about 1 month ago

Jerk Chicken and Pineapple Quesadilla

Before taking your first bite, slather it in sour cream, cover it with their homemade salsa, and place a few pickled jalapeños on top. As you take that first bite, you feel the kick of the salsa and jalapeños, but it is followed by the sweet taste of pineapple. It's a perfect lunch or dinner entree. It is chicken perfection!

Assaj517 about 1 month ago

Chili and Chips

As a vegetarian who has many non vegetarian friends I cannot say enough good things about this place, their quality, and their welcoming attitude. Particularly the vegetarian chili and chips is a guilty little pleasure of mine. Just the right amount of toothsome crunch combined with near perfection in chili seasoning makes me happy every time. Plus my meat eater friends don't even miss the beef. Love, love, love!!

Drrollinson about 1 month ago

Jerk Chicken Caesar Wrap

It's so hard to comment/review on just one dish because EVERYTHING on the menu is so delicious and fresh. I have been a frequent flyer of the Urban Cafe' for a while now. I love the atmosphere and the food in by far my favorite in St. Augustine. Very fair prices, perfect portions, great service, and amazing food!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA