Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Back 40. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Stephanieaschulte 2 days ago

Jerk Chicken and Pineapple Quesadilla

This is our "go to" place! Love the back 40 and all of their dishes. My favorites are the shrimp curry salad and jerk chicken quesadilla but have never been dissatisfied. My husband loves the island bowl with shrimp and the fiesta magi wrap. We love the unique flavors and laid back atmosphere. For a casual date night a pre-dinner drink at the bog followed by the back 40 is perfect.

Lgamboathompson 6 days ago

Cuban

I've gone to Back 40 Urban Cafe for years and they never disappoint me! The food is consistently amazing and they have the best Cuban sandwich in St. Augustine!!

Josh.J.Brown 11 days ago

BBQ Chicken Quesadilla

Amazing little restaurant! Great service, fantastic food and wonderful ambiance! My family love just about everything they have on the menu. Specifically any of the quesadillas!!

Murphymyers14 14 days ago

Upside Down Chicken Pot Pie

Love the Back 40. It is always one of our stops when we visit St. Augustine. The food is always good & so is the service. We know we are not going to be disappointed when we eat there. We definitely have to try the Back 40 A1A on our next visit to the area.

Dal57staug 16 days ago

Thai Chicken & Peanut

This is my all time favorite salad. The chicken has the best seasoning and is always fresh. The salad dressing is so good I could probably drink it. Yum, yum, yum! Honestly, I have never had a bad meal and I've been going to Back 40 for many years.

Kathrynharen1 24 days ago

Chili

Best chili and nachos around by far! We absolutely love Back 40!

James.B.Montgomery 25 days ago

Dynamite Shrimp Tacos

Love the tacos and salsa!!! No question, these are the best in all north Fla.. I could easily eat here everyday....

Lisa.Gianelloni 27 days ago

Thai Chicken & Peanut

This is one of the best salads I have ever had! I love the Thai peanut dressing, but the marinated cucumbers are a spicy treat that makes the whole salad come together! It's so large I save half for later...a double treat! Truly Awesome!!

Red1eqchef 28 days ago

Mahi Tacos

Love love love these tacos! The ranch sauce and fresh cilantro take them up a notch. Also appreciate that you can get them on corn tortillas

Papajohn3 28 days ago

Drunken Wet Burrito

What a great find and a great meal. Definitely telling my friends and coming back!

Cyscokitty 30 days ago

Island Bowl

Loved my Island Bowl with Mojo pork. It was a huge serving and it was delicious. The salsa is amazing! Also had the queso appetizer. There were two of us sharing and I had plenty to take home.

Gilbertjen about 1 month ago

Jerk Chicken and Pineapple Quesadilla

Visited today with a coworker and the food and service were excellent. I'm so glad this place is fairly close to where I work as I know I will be back again soon!

Deb.Digiovanni about 1 month ago

Shrimp Tacos

Started at the original Back 40 and love its quaintness, but was so excited when A1A opened closer to home. I am stuck on their tacos and chips and salsa. Every time I go I'm determined to try something new, but those delicious tacos seem to call my name. But this review settles it...next time I'm trying a new dish for sure!!

Carolyn32092 about 1 month ago

Cuban

The best cubqn ive ever had and trust me ive had lots ;) and the jerk chicken nachos were amazing !♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

Angelsimpsongray about 1 month ago

Chimichurri Pork Tacos

These tacos are amazing, best in town!

Jessisawl about 1 month ago

Thai Chicken & Peanut

The BEST salad ever. Literally order it every time I go.

Ashleighn08 about 1 month ago

Shrimp Po'boy

We LOVE Back40! Being locals, we come to Back40 atleast once a week. Having tried almost everything on the menu, there's not a single dish that I didn't like! Their daily happy hour is a deal, and their specials can't be beaten. Every dessert they make is to die for! Highly recommend Back40! They will be stealing my money for years to come! :)

Summerhuers about 1 month ago

Shrimp Curry

One of our go to favorite spots for an amazing meal and good price. 9x out of 10, I get their shrimp curry salad, because there's nothing else like it around!

Kdaniels982 about 1 month ago

Island Bowl

My family has been going to The Back 40 for years. I always have a hard time choosing between the Island Bowl, Wet Burrito, or the Tacos. I love each one equally and crave each one when I arrive. The food is always top notch, very friendly waitresses, and a very at home feeling while we are there. I have recommended it to many people and have brought many with me. My wife and I enjoy the Tuesday night date night that The Back 40 does. $25 for two meals, 2 drinks and a shared dessert! You can not beat that!!

Ashton7100 about 1 month ago

Island Bowl

We recently visited on a Tuesday for the date night special. What a great deal that is.... We sat outside with a total of four of us and had great service. We each had something different, i had the Island Bowl with jerk Chicken and my husband had the Wet Burrito. The other couple had the Chicken Nachos and Fish Tacos. The portions are big and taste great. After we stopped eating our dinner our server said theres more....lol..out comes the dessert menu. Yes with the date night special you get a dessert to share. Whats on the dessert menu you ask? They had several things but Cheesecake is what caught my attention and this was not just any cheesecake. It was delicious!!!!! Jessie that works at this location makes these daily from scratch and they are Amazing. In my opinion it was a great dinner with a great price. We have visted this location three different times. The first time was a girls night with around 10 of us, the second time was a group of twenty three friends, the last time us and another couple and each visit we have had great food and excellent service. Check them out on Facebook for specials each night.

Carolwhitfield8045 3 days ago

Sriracha Avocado Club

our Yearly vacation ain't complete until we eat here. Service and food are always top notch. My husband had the jerk chicken nachos. Large portion and best jerk chicken he's had.

Happy71199 10 days ago

Black Bean Hummus

Amazing place with amazing food!!! 10/10. A true hidden gem of St. Augustine. The food and service is quick and hospitable. I highly recommend!

Will 14 days ago

Fiesta Mahi Wrap

Fish (Mahi) & Chips (Tortilla) salad!! The "Special" of the day!! It was so good and was suggested by Pennie! Fish was prepared perfect and the veggies and ALL were fresh! Washed it down with a ice cold Kona Longboard! Sat at the bar and got great service from Pennie! The lunches have always been great and look forward to the dinners! Thanks again for the superb service and great food!!

Pgcaudle74 15 days ago

Island Bowl

What a burst of freshness! I added the jerk chicken to my bowl and must say I did not have a single complaint. The chicken alone was moist and tender and perfectly seasoned. I was a little skeptical of the rice but found it enhanced the bowls flavor (and pleasing to the pallet) Everything tasted fresh which now a days can be rare treat! The hubby had the popular meatloaf burger and now understands why it is a must to try! The meat was juicy and full of flavor! And last but not least the staff! We felt at home here and we will be visiting more often! Very well done! Sincerely the picky food eater who my family says should be a food critic!

Fawnnuk24 24 days ago

Fiesta Mahi Wrap

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Great fresh taste, large portions, cute atmosphere, service very friendly! Definitely worth the stop to eat here! We live out of town but will be making it a mandatory stop on our future vacation here:)

Cperez0416 25 days ago

Sweet Chili Lime Shrimp Quesadilla

This is my favorite dish! It's delicious! All of their food is unique and fresh!

Heather 26 days ago

Jerk Chicken Caesar Wrap

Hands down my favorite dish at the cafe. Chill atmosphere with great staff. Love this place!

Red1eqchef 28 days ago

Avocado and Roasted Red Pepper Tacos

Nice vegetarian option, good flavor combo. It would be great if you had some substitutions for the cheese and ranch sauce so it could be vegan.

Red1eqchef 28 days ago

Wet Burrito

So much of everything you love about a burrito! Beans,rice, cheese, peppers and more- plus the meat or seafood of your choice! Smothered in sauce and cheese extras on the side. It's two meals for most people- even my husband! Always a favorite- so much so that we haven't tried that many things on the menu even though we are locals! 😄

Cosmokat99 29 days ago

Cuban

I,, my husband,,and kids love getting ready and hitting the Urban Cafe!!! Food & employees are on point!! Thank you for always a great time!!

Lindabenjamin17 30 days ago

Mahi Tacos

Those Mahi tacos!!!! So glad I found this wonderful place. Close to home, so very fresh and friendly with delicious food and great service! These tacos are perfectly prepared and quite a generous portion with the most scrumptious black beans and rice in the side. I almost want to keep this place a secret but I shout it from the rooftops! I usually enjoy sitting outside in this beautiful little haven. Nice cool Chardonnay to drink and a homey luscious half pint pana Cotta make a perfect finish. Mmmmm

Pcrews0211 about 1 month ago

Jerk Chicken Nachos

The best nachos! I've tried ordering other dishes but always return to these. I've never had jerk chicken anywhere that tastes this good!

Reid about 1 month ago

Chili Mac Bowl

While my heart will forever belong to tacos... My favorite thing to order at Back 40 is their Chili Mac Bowl. The three bean chili combined with the pickled jalapenos and peppers is excellent!

Kpwash7 about 1 month ago

Thai Chicken & Peanut

Can't just choose one dish. Everything on their menu is delicious!!! Best place to go by far. Great food great staff great vibes

Kate Lynch about 1 month ago

Thai Chicken & Peanut

This place is amazing. Love it. I had this salad the last time but have pretty much had everything over the years - all exceptional

Kbarjae12 about 1 month ago

Mojo Pork Tacos

These pork tacos are the best I have ever had . You can really tell they only use fresh and quality ingredients. I would recommend this spot to anyone and everyone

Myeskimopie about 1 month ago

Island Bowl

My family has been going here for years. Why you ask? Because you get delicious, fresh food, generous portions, served by the friendliest people, who remember you, what you eat and how you like it, and want to make sure you have a great experience and keep coming back. We like it so much, we had a family event at the A1A location too. Come! You won't be disappointed

Mamarobinfl about 1 month ago

Shrimp Tacos

Hands down the BEST I've had. When I'm not eating them on the back deck I am dreaming about it!

Diannelenore about 1 month ago

Island Bowl

So fresh, fresh, fresh! Loved every last delicious bite. Outstanding salsa, gotta see if you have bottles to sell next time. Quaint charming decor and always great service!